Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Rachel" Dream







EXCERPT

"Jarred was able to get Cinnamon's temperature down a bit, but there's still a long way to go.  I'll sleep better when he's healthy enough to enjoy sugar cubes again"
"Jarred?
"Dr. Zimmerman I mean. "She lifted her hands. "He told me to call him Jarred."


MY THOUGHTS

Rachel's Dream is the third book in Lisa Jones Baker series Hope Chest of Dreams. 

This latest book from Lisa is delightful read and won't disappoint. Sit back and come let me introduce you to some lovely people in this community. Rachel Kauffman and Jarred Zimmerman will capture your heart. When these two come together through Rachel's horse that has taken ill you will see a  friendship blossom and deepen as does the trust they have for one another.  Could this friendship lead into love and marriage? I won't give anything away but will encourage you to read this series I promise you will enjoy as much as I did.

 AUTHOR


You can find Lisa at http://www.lisajonesbaker.com or you can find her on Facebook.com

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

A Special Mother's Day with Amy Clipston and Giveaway




A very special Mother's Day interview and giveaway with Amy Clipston. Thank you Amy for being such a blessing in our lives and letting us into yours this Mother's Day.





What "proud mom" moment would your Nana share about you?

Response - My nana passed away when I was a junior in high school, and I wish she could have met my sons. (I also wish she could read my books!) I believe my nana would be proud to see my sons are good, thoughtful, funny young me. I think she'd also be proud of me for raising my sons in the church and working hard to teach them how to be respectful members of society.

When you first learned you going tube a mom what thoughts entered you mind?

Response - I was thrilled, and Hoped and prayed my baby would be deathly. I prayed this prayer fervently when Was pregnant with Matthew because I'd experienced a miscarriage two year before he was born. I was terrified I was going to lose another baby, which why I call Matthew my oracle. He was appropriately born on Good Friday.

What was your favorite Mother's Day gift or action?

Response - My favorite was after Matt was born because I had my two wonderful boys.

Amy. please share a special "proud mom" moment you had with each of your boys. I'm thinking of the Scripture that " Mary kept all these things in her heart" and thought there might be something that even Matt and Zac don't know about.

Response - This year each of my boys has moved me to tears because of their loving and giving hearts. I'm not going to use any name in order to protect their privacy.

One of my sons stood up to a bully by defending another boy who was being harassed. When this bully called the victim horrible names, my son walked up to the bully and gave him a piece of this mind. The bully was stunned silent and left the victim alone. I can't express how proud I am that my child didn't stand by and allow a bully to hurt another child.

My other son was a blessing to his friend when he needed help. His friend was depressed shared while they were talking online that he was thinking of hurting himself. My son texted the other boy's mother and told her he was worried about him. When the issue came up again when my son was with his friend, he listens to his friend talk and even cried with him wile offering him comfort. I had tears in my eyes when my son shared this with me.

I am really proud of my sons for helping others int heir time of need. I believe  my sons will continue to be a blessing to others.

Do you have a tradition on Mother's Day (something your husband or kids do for you every year)?

Response -  My husband and boys give me gifts and cards, and there is always at least one card fro the cats. Then they take my mom and me out to lunch or dinner. It's fun!



Here is what you will be able to win when you enter.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Godfish Promotion and A Mother's Love Scavenger Hunt by Charlotte Hubbard

Enter to win a $15 Amazon/BN GC - a Rafflecopter giveaway">ps://Enter to win a $15 Amazon/BN GC - a Rafflecopter giveaway">Enter to win a $15 Amazon/BN GC - a Rafflecopter giveaway">




A Mother's Love

Published by: Kensington Books www.kensingtonbooks.com

GENRES: Amish, Christaian, Romance


EXCERPT

For widow Rose Raber, it’s been a year of tragic loss and difficult decisions. She thought providing for her young daughter was the greatest challenge she faced. Until her dying mother revealed that Rose was adopted—and her birth mother is someone with much to lose if the secret comes out. As Rose struggles to reconcile the truth with her faith—and her troubling curiosity—outgoing newcomer Matthias Wagler is another surprise she didn’t expect. His optimism and easy understanding inspires her. And his prospective partnership with wealthy deacon Saul Hartzler promises a possible new life for them—together. But with this second chance comes yet another revelation for all involved.

When Saul’s wife unexpectedly turns up at Rose’s new job, their bond as mother and daughter is instant and unmistakable. And it isn’t long before an unforgiving Saul discovers the truth, threatening Matthias’s livelihood and Rose’s future. Now with more than just their happiness at stake, Rose and Matthias must find the strength and courage to stand strong—and trust God’s enduring miracles of motherhood, forgiveness, and love.







MY THOUGHTS
Within the reading the first few pages of, A Mother's Love, my memories and emotion of my own grandmother's battle with cancer flooded back. This story, along with my own experiences have shown me just how precious life is, and that we should never take it for granted, those that God has placed in our lives. I cannot say enough about this book- Hubbard, in my opinion, has out done herself. Through all of the books, I have read from Charlotte Hubbard, this has been by far the best with the most emotions and thought provoking book. A Mother's Love will have you in tears, laughing and falling in love not with Rose, but with her spunky daughter Gracie, who helps put things into prespecitve.

I don't want to spoil this for future readers, but I will leave you with this: you will not be disappointed.

A special than you to Charlotte Hubbard for pulling on my heart and making this book so easy to love.

I was given an ARC for my review for which I have given.

Enter to win a $15 Amazon/BN GC - a Rafflecopter giveaway


  ABOUT THE AUTHOR 


Many moons ago—like, in 1983 while I was still a school librarian—I sold my first story to True Story. This launched me into writing about seventy of those “true confessions” stories over the years, and I’ve been a slave to my overactive imagination ever since.

The next big step was selling my first historical romance in 1990, a Zebra Heartfire called COLORADO CAPTIVE. I quickly sold five more in that genre—and if you prefer my Christian romances, these historical Westerns won’t be your cup of tea! They’re all out of print now, but available from used book stores or on Amazon.com. I’m bringing them back in digital format with beautiful new covers, which you can see on my Books page.
After a long dry spell that entailed major changes in the publishing industry and an agent who fritzed out on cocaine, I resurfaced in a new genre, with a new publisher, editor, and agent who were so excited about my Angels of Mercy series! These four faith-and-family stories are also out of print now, but available online as e-books. With THE LOVE SECRET, I moved into new territory once again—and once again the setting is a place I love to spend time: the Oregon Coast. Unfortunately, this series was doomed before it even got off the ground, so only this one book got written. That happens in the publishing business.
Being an author is great fun when you’re selling, but it’s best to have a hide like a rhinoceros and a spouse who gets a regular paycheck! Patience, persistence and just flat-out luck have given me this opportunity to reinvent myself yet again. Those angels I write about keep pulling me through, and are often my friends and family—but I owe a lot to the heavenly beings who bear me up on their wings, as well!

My stories invariably take on a life of their own, different from the way I’ve proposed them: I love it when unforeseen characters and plot twists come along, because they keep me guessing right along with my readers!
I have often presented workshops at my RWA chapter in St. Louis, and at conferences. I also belong to Novelists, Inc..

Monday, April 24, 2017






Excrept

"Have I seen who?" He decided playing dumb was his best course of action. Then again, maybe Buddy wasn't talking about Sarah, but someone else.

Sarah Yoder couldn't remember a time when she didn't have her eye on Jonah, and wondered if he will ever feel the way she does. One night they spent together changed the course of their lives. 
They both had regrets and Sarah new that now being married to Jonah was only because  she was pregnant and he didn't and could never love her the way she hoped. Has she trapped Jonah? This is the question she continue to ask herself. 

My Thoughts

Marrying Jonah is Lilliard's last book in her Wells Landing series. I believe that this is the best yet in this series. It makes me wonder what other stories Amy has been working on to capture my heart and the heart of her readers. In Marrying Jonah Lillard does a wonderful job bringing this story full circle that it will move through your heart and make you realize that there is always hope in all circumstances. I enjoyed reading this book and the writings of Amy Lillard she truly has a way of writing about the Amish and I look forward to her next book(s).

I was given a copy of this book for my review which I have given.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I’ve retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I’m from Texas. (?)  Rob and I have been married for over twenty-five years and have a son–a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course!
I love homemade tacos, nail polish, and romance novels–not necessarily in that order. I’m a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I’m shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter.
I dislike people trying to convince me to read the Twlight series (I’ll get to it or I won’t, either way I’m good with it), gratuitous violence, and strawberry ice cream. (I know I’m alone on this last one, and again, I’m good with it.)
Favorite movies–(besides HP) French Kiss, Maid of Honor, A Lot Like Love, Just Married, and Sweet Home Alabama. Oh, and Miss Congeniality, Sabrina (both versions) and a 1940’s movie called Dear Ruth. If you haven’t seen it, you should! A-dorable. Anything with Doris Day and most all of Marilyn’s and Audrey’s. 

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Happy Easter

Gut morning friends. The weekend and much to celebrate jah? I will be out in my garden planting a few more things and living a bit Amish. I won't be on much this weekend so I want to wish you all a very Happy Easter.

Come back on Monday it's time for a Spring Giveaway! #amishliving #simplelife #amishbooks

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

The Beloved Hope Chest


Excerpt

“A knock on the front door interrupted their conversation. "I wonder what that is" Lizanne said. Mattie followed her sister to the front door. Lizanne pulled it open and crisp February air flooded the warm house as two police officers stood on the front porch.”

My Thoughts

Mattie is overjoyed to be expecting her first child with, her husband, Isaiah.  At only three months along, she was incredibly happy with her life, and could not wait to be a mother. This elated feeling was sadly short lived. With a knock on her door one dreadful, cold, Saturday night in February, Mattie’s life would change, forever.  

When I sat down to write my review on, The Beloved Hope Chest I was not sure where to start. From the moment I opened this book, I was flooded with emotion. I knew this was going to be one of the best stories Amy Cliptson has written, and I was eager to continue. 

It is difficult to put into words, how deeply this story touched my heart. It made me reflect on my own life and circumstances, and made me  give thanks to the Lord, for all the blessings He has given to my family over the years. This story is a good reminder that we will never know much time we have with our loved ones, we must learn to cherish and love them every day. 

I was given a copy of this book to give my opinion and review which I have provided above.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Early Years
A native of New Jersey, I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I often joke that my fiction writing “career” began in elementary school as I wrote and shared silly stories with a close friend. However throughout school, I only considered writing a hobby, and I never dreamt of being an author.
In 1991, I graduated from high school, and my parents and I moved to Virginia Beach, Virginia. My father retired, and my mother went to work full-time. I attended Virginia Wesleyan College in Norfolk, and I graduated with a degree in communications. I met my husband, Joe, during my senior year in college, a few days after my father had a massive stroke. Joe and I clicked instantly, and after a couple of months we started dating. We married four years later.
After graduating from VWC, I took a summer job with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District, which turned into an eleven-year career. I worked in the Public Affairs Office for four years and then moved into Planning as a writer/editor.
During that time, I continued writing for fun. It was something I did to escape stress and unwind. I didn’t share the stories with anyone except for a couple of close friends. In fact, I was even afraid to admit to my husband that I wrote.

Writing as a Career
One day while surfing the Internet for a professional editor’s group, I accidentally found a local fiction writing group, Chesapeake Romance Writers. I attended a meeting and I met writers in all stages of

their careers. The group helped me realize that I did want to be an author, and it was my dream to see my name on the cover of one of my novels.
Through Chesapeake Romance Writers, I learned how to plot, write, and edit a novel, and I also learned how to pursue an agent. I signed with Mary Sue Seymour at the Seymour Agency in 2006, shortly before Joe and I moved my parents and our sons to North Carolina.

My dream came true when I sold my first book in 2007. Holding my first book, A Gift of Grace, in my hands was exhilarating and surreal.
Fiction bestseller lists, including the CBA (Christian Book Association)
My Amish Books

My Amish series include the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series and the Hearts bestseller list and the ECPA (Evangelical Christian Publishers Association) bestseller list.
I love writing about the Amish, and an Amish friend in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, reads my manuscripts for accuracy. I was always fascinated with the Amish when I was a child. I remember visiting Lancaster County, and my father, who was a German immigrant, told me that the Amish speak the same dialect of German as my relatives. I was drawn to their simplicity and faith. Due to my German heritage, I feel a loose connection to the Amish and their culture.
My plots come straight from my heart and all involve family issues intertwined with faith.

My Memoir about my Kidney Donation
I’m an advocate for organ and blood donation. I donated a kidney on June 14, 2011, at Johns Hopkins Hospital. Through my donation, my husband received a second kidney transplant. My husband and I matched another couple and we swapped kidneys with them. I gave a kidney to my husband’s donor’s wife. I share our story in my memoir, A Gift of Love. Feel free to email me and ask me what it was like to be a kidney donor. It was one of the most amazing experiences in my life. If you’re healthy, please donate blood! Also, become an organ donor.
Thanks so much for visiting my website and checking out my books!

Friday, April 7, 2017




Excerpt

"Annie?" She gasped. "Levi?" Levi Miller? Could it be? In her mind she saw the Amish boy, her one and only best childhood friend. Her confidant until that terrible day.”

When Levi’s father is shunned from their community, Levi loses his most cherished friendship. Annie’s best friend, her confidant, is gone and nowhere to be found. As time moves forward, so do the lives of Annie and Levi, a friendship neither of them ever forgets. At a wedding within the community, the two were surprised to see each other; in no time, they picked up right where they left off. Annie was thrilled, her parents, however, did not share her excitement.  They were concerned with their friendship, given the status of Levi’s father. Annie assured her family there was nothing to worry about, but even she could not deny the connection her and Levi shared.

 I am new to author Lisa Baker Jones and was delighted to be asked to read the story of Annie and Levi in, Annie’s Recipe. This book delivers everything you love about the Amish genre and then some! In this story, you will find love, faith, and friendship. I hope this story touches your heart; I know it touched mine. I am eager to read more from Lisa in the future!


I was given a copy of this book for a review and my opinions that I have given above.

ATHOUR

Lisa Jones Baker grew up near a small Amish town in Illinois that she frequented with her family on weekends. She's also a dog lover and a fan of Scottsdale, Arizona, where she spent nearly two decades. Lisa graduated from Illinois State University with a French major, has been on 5 out of 7 continents, and considers her parents the best in the world. Raised in a Christian home, Lisa has always been blessed with love and support. She enjoys hearing from readers via email at lisajonesbaker1@gmail.com.