Sunday, December 8, 2013

Joann's Struggle



Image of J.E.B. Spredemann

It was a Saturday morning In Paradise, Pennsylvania. Spring was in the air when a young Amish girl Joanna Fisher was getting ready with her family to head off to the first mud sale of the season. The whole family was excited for this day to come especially Joanna, as she was looking forward to spending the day with her best friend Chloe Esh.

Shortly upon their arrival at the mud sale Joanna and Chloe met up, they were both anxious to start their day looking at the quilts and  having a good time, especially since Joanna was going to be staying all day with Chloe and her family. The day flew by and before Joanna and Chloe knew it Chloe's mom was calling for them so they could  be home before dark.  Joanna had told Chloe to go ahead she needed to make a quick stop and she would meet up with her and her family, but little did Joanna know or ever conceive of the fate that awaited her.

Life is often overwhelming and far too often, when it is not, we learn to look for the next wave to overtake us. In this way, we can adversely learn to live life in fear. Whether we see it coming or whether it hits us out of the blue, we come to understand that life is always going to throw us difficult - and at times, terrifying - twists and turns. Though our expectations may help us deal with things in this world, it is never the life that God wants us to lead. It is our faith in His love, His promise that becomes all the more necessary for us to stand up to the tests of our worldly toils. Without this strength, we are easily crushed in spirit and consumed in darkness.

Through Joanna, we are shown this lesson. Fear is not an emotion that God has given to us to negotiate and maneuver through life. J.e.b. Spredmann shows us through Joanna's struggle that fear leads us deeper into the void, not into the light of God's love, not into the embrace of His will. In this wonderful story of courage and faith, Ms. Spredmann serves her readers well to deliver a powerful message based on the truth of the Gospel.

This book is suited well for young teens who are more and more frequently consumed by an ever more complex and cold world. For the younger among us who are lost, who may be searching for a false light that will never shine. Written in a way that every reader can connect to the message, regardless of their state of faith (or lack thereof), we can discover this truth in this journey with Joanna as she frightfully confronts her own conflict of fear and faith. This is a powerful story not to be missed.




Monday, November 4, 2013

Thanksgiving

With this being the month of Thanksgiving I was wondering how many would like to share with me what they are thankful for.

Leave me a comment.

Sunday, September 22, 2013

My visit with Amish friends



Over the course of the past couple of years, my husband and I have enjoyed the embrace of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. In this warm setting, we have opened our hearts as the people of this beautiful country have opened theirs. Our time and journey in this wondrous place have led to new friendships including that of a young Amish woman who worked at a favored market.

It was a Saturday when we went to our favorite market on an extended, if not spontaneous, day trip. We wanted to let our friend know that we would be back in August for a longer stay and hope to get together then. When we arrived, we saw another woman working in her place which was unusual. I approached the stand to ask about our friend and to my surprise, this woman already knew through her daughter.

"Oh yes, you are Tina Loveless," she said, "my daughter has told me all about you. Please do come over, we would enjoy having you."

We exchanged telephone numbers and let her know that would be in touch when we were back in town.

When August arrived, and not a moment too soon, my husband and I set off to Lancaster for 6 days. Excited to spend some time with our new Amish friends, with a bit of anticipation and excitement,  I phoned and left a message. When I finally got the call back I was so excited we set up a time to meet and said our goodbyes until then.

My husband and I headed out to our friends home, as we take the turn down the lone road to their farm, carved among the fields of tall corn, we turned into the crushed stone land. The alabaster path gave the moment such serenity that the rest of the world seemed to melt away. 

Once we arrived, my husband and I were greeted with open arms and sat on their patio and just talked with the family for several hours. It felt as if we had known each other for years and that we were just catching up.

Many things come to my mind when I was reflecting on this trip. First and foremost was being able to share this experience with my husband that made it all the more special. Second was the joy of visiting an Amish family in their home and getting to know them on a more personal basis.

During this wonderful stay, I was reminded that the Amish are much more like you and me than we tend to recognize.  They face many of the same problems that we do in our daily lives and remembering this draws the bonds between our very different communities much closer. This experience continues to help me live a better life by seeing past the distractions and shedding some of the unnecessary burdens of English life.

Looking at my family's life through the lens given to me through a growing relationship with the Amish, it has become easier to see how many things I stuff into my life. Material and spiritual baggage that serves little purpose in me nurturing a better life for my own family. There are many things that I will continue to keep in my life that the Amish generally don't have, but that's the beauty in our differences. In the end, it is through those differences that I gain a better view of the important things upon which I must focus.

The lesson from this recent experience is to embrace those who have embraced me and to learn from the things we share as much as the different things that we bring to each other.

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Give Away!






Here's your chance to win this spice matt. Made by local Amish in Lancaster Pa. All you need to do is join my blog and tell me what you like most about the Amish. Good luck to everyone.

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Give Away

I feel another give away coming! Stay tune to for information. And if you  haven't joined my blog you may want to.

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Winner

And the winner is....... Lorrriane Alexander. Please PM me you address.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Last Chance

Kat,

This is your last chance to send me your address or another winner will be picked.

If you haven't yet joined my blog here's a chance to join and win an Amish Pot Holder made in Lancaster.

Monday, June 10, 2013

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Ascension Day

Ascension day is a day commemorating Jesus physical ascension into Heaven. This is the 40th day after Easter Sunday. Many Amish communities observe this as a holiday.

Monday, April 29, 2013

Face of Heaven Book Review








The Face of Heaven
One of life’s amazing ironies is how the smallest moments can bring about the biggest changes. Author Murray Pura takes us to just such a moment in 1861 that starts with a simple stroll to a barn. In The Face of Heaven, we meet young Lyndel Keimin of Lancaster, Pennsylvania who is living an Amish life on her family’s quiet farmland.
As the nation descends into a great struggle for its purpose and soul, the nightmare of the Civil War and its causes seem so very distant to Lyndel. That is, until one quiet morning when she finds two frightened, hungry runaway slaves hiding in her barn.
This forces a difficult decision onto Lyndel, helping the runaways or reporting them. Hiding the slaves was against the law, but turning them in to the local authorities would return them to the horror of slavery only after they received extreme punishment. Caught between the obeying the Law of God and obeying the Law of Man, Lyndel turns to her brother Levi and his friend Nathaniel for help. Soon, forces much larger than they can imagine soon sweep them away as they are engulfed by the conflicts of home and of country.
Pura takes us on a journey across multiple fabrics where faith, loyalties, and obedience are all put to the test on personal and spiritual levels. The Face of Heaven wonderfully throws us into a familiar struggle in which we seek to please this world, but also seek to serve the will of God.
Cleverly toiling through local and national conflict, Mura walks us down this road during a time when our country was coming apart at the seams. A time when faith abounded as much as hopelessness and uncertainty, much like today. This story weaves a wonderful trail that serves as both storyteller and instructor.
In this rich story, the lens can be placed on our own lives during those times when we are at ‘war’ between the wants of this world and the wants of God. Murray Pura offers us a chance to see how hope and faith as our only bearings can keep us walking in the promises of our Heavenly Father to overcome lives challenges.Face

Monday, April 1, 2013

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Give Away

 I'm looking for the 20th person to join my blog and you can win this handmade spice holder. Made by local Amish in Lancaster Pa.

Friday, March 22, 2013

Lancaster

Im back from Lancaster and had the amazing time. Learned so much this trip. Be on the look out for pictures, and some giveaways. Oh yes, and Im just about finished with my latest book review.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Book Review

I have my pen to  paper and writing my review for my next book. I really enjoyed this book and hope that you will too. Be on the look out.

Friday, March 8, 2013

Book Review

Gathering my notes for my next book review. I hope that you enjoy it as much as you did my last review.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Have you read my latest review on Something Old? Leave me a message and let me know what you think.

Monday, January 28, 2013





Something Old by Diane Christner
 

Something Old, the first book in a series of Plain City Bridesmaid, takes place in Plain City, Ohio, where young Katy Yoder is living her life as a Conservative Mennonite. Nursing a heart broken by her love Jake Byler when he left the faith, Katy moves on and recovers in a life of peace and simplicity. That is, until her world becomes turbulent when Jake returns seeking redemption from the church and forgiveness from her heart.
 
Confused, angry, and torn, Katy faces a difficult test of faith as she seeks the strength of God to forgive a man who hurt her so deeply. Her journey is one that is painfully familiar, the struggle to forgive those who have wounded us. It is in these times that we are vulnerable to temptation, to weakness of spirit, and indulgence in anger. Katy's story is one of courage that shows us how faith can show us the way, even when we wonder if God is listening.

A wonderful story of heartbreak and triumph with lessons that we can all take into our lives, this book is not to be missed.

 

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Amish Winter Love Book Review

Product Details


Amish Winter Love  is the first in a series of short stories.

This book was suggested to me by a friend, and was quickly taken into the story with the turn of the first page; I wished I had my tissues close by. My heart felt for the main characters and left me with hope. This is a wonderful book to read and would recommend it to all.

I look forward to reading the remaining books in this series.


Many Blessings to you all.

Thursday, January 17, 2013

I just posted on Facebook my blog infomation. This is exciting.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Book Review

Be on the look out for my first book review. Amish Winter Love Author Faith Grace.