Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Amish Second Christmas


Did you know that many of the Amish celebrate two Christmas's. On December 26th many of the Amish continue to celebrate the birth of Jesus. This is a day for family and friends to get together and exchange gifts and have a wonderful feast and read scripture.

Friday, November 7, 2014





Wanda Brunstetter's The simple Life Devotional is a lovely book that has been complied of  different stories from the Amish that includes scriptures for each story as well a recipe and photos.

The simplicity of this devotional is what captures the essence of the Amish and their lifestyle and can be easily read by all.

The thing I most enjoyed about this devotion, is the wonderful pictures, recipes, that have been shared in this book. It is a must give for Christmas, Birthday or just because gift.


I received a free copy of this book for my honest opinion.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Book Discusssion

We are continuing our book discussion tonight on The Guardian by Beverly Lewis on my facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview

Hope to see you there.

Blessings



Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Book Discussion

Hello friends,

Join me tonight, for Miss Tina's book discussion. We will be discussing The Guardian by Beverly Lewis. Follow the link and hope to see you there!

https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Book Discussion



Hello friends,

I will be holding our first book discussion on Facebook, Wednesday October 22, 2014 at 7:00pm EST. We will be discussing The Guardian by Beverly Lewis ( Hickory Hollow Series). Would love to have you join in.

I have posted the link below.

Have a blessed day!

Miss Tina


https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview

Thursday, October 16, 2014

The Amish Black Smith Book Review

Priscilla Kinsinger is a young Amish girl who is thought to be different in her community because of her connection with animals. When tragic events take place in Priscilla life, she unfairly takes much of the blame upon herself. To escape her guilt, she makes a difficult decision to seek an elusive peace by leaving her home in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Priscilla explores the life in this world and despite her efforts to find solace remains troubled. Ultimately, she allows the nudging from God to return home even though she is unaware of exactly why. A chance meeting with a young Amish man training to become a blacksmith begins to change everything, but her heavy heart forces her to confront difficult choices.

This is a touching story of difficult decisions that we all face. As I read through this book I ask myself would I be able to know what God wants me to do and would I be able to step out in faith the way Priscilla did. Many times when we step out in faith having no understanding what it is we are suppose to do and the only we can do it pray, be still, and listen for God to direct our path so those reasons are made clear to us and we would be blessed in return.


I enjoyed reading this book because it inspired me to reflect into decisions that I have made and looking at the strength of my own faith. I would recommend this book for teens to adults and was given a free copy of this book for my honest review.

Friday, October 10, 2014

Hello

Hello Friends,

Hope everyone is doing well. I like to invite each of you over to my Facebook page for some fun talk and book discussions that will be coming. Hope everyone has a blessed day.



Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Favorite leisure activity of Amish


Did you know that Volleyball is a favorite leisure activity, especially among the young people.

Thursday, July 31, 2014






If you enjoyed The Half-Stitched Quilting Club then you be touched, and moved with Wanda Brunstetter’s newest book, The Healing Quilt.

When Emma and Lamar decide to move to Sarasota, Florida to avoid the cold weather that Indiana brings, and to help Lamar with his arthritis,
Emma was surprised how much she was missing her home, family and friends, so Lamar suggest that she holds another quilting class to help pass the time until they return home to Indiana.

Wanda brings a handful of wonderful characters to this story, and each with their own story to tell. There was something in each of these characters that will make you feel as if they are your best friend, or if one of them could be you.

This is a wonderful touching story to be read, and I enjoy each page. I would recommended this book for all ages, and hope that this story moves and blesses you the way it did me.


I received a free copy of this book from the author and publisher and was asked to write a review.

Thursday, July 10, 2014








Jolene, Lorriane, and Katie are all close family members in Wanda Brunstetter’s heartfelt trilogy, “Indiana Cousins”, a story about confronting tragedy when it confronts our faith.
Jolene, Lorriane, and Katie greeted about their trip to Hershey Park, Pennsylvania with great excitement. Their journey was expected to be one of the most memorable weekends and so it would be, but in an unimaginable, tragic way. The bonds of family and faith are tested as dark forces threaten to tear the cousins apart in the most difficult of struggles. Indiana Cousins reaches out to include us as extended family as we follow the trials of preserving faith in the face of abject pain and suffering.
We are shown the truth that God never promised we would be without heartache in this world, but that He will be with us and give us the strength to carry through - if we choose to endure the test of grief. Through this wonderful, poignant tale we are reminded that it is not possible to know God’s plan, we can only be faithful to it – whatever that may be.
Suffering may be a season beset upon us for growth, it may be to help save others through our example, or it could be to serve Him in ways that may never be known to us. Whatever the purpose, however deep the pain, however unjust it may seem to us, we must not question God’s motives, but instead be loyal to His promise of love and respectful of His will.
As the cousins show us, tragedy makes us vulnerable to believing in silence, to believing that God hears us, but doesn’t care or respond. Then, as so often happens, a week, a month, or even years will pass before we experience that overwhelming heart of thanksgiving. Our eyes open to why the Lord didn’t answer our prayers how we wished, and if that moment does not happen, we still know that God has His plan and that our suffering is for a divine purpose.

This is the great lesson that Wanda Brunstetter passes to us. God can take any broken heart, tragic event that has taken in place in our lives just as He did with the Indiana Cousins and turn into a message – and a journey – of hope to others.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

A Sweet Story





Child of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis

Child of mine is a sweet and tender story of love, family and faith.

It begins when Jack Livingston has been given custody of his 9 year old niece Natalie, after a tragic accident claims the lives of Natalie’s parents.  Jack soon realizes that Natalie is in need of a mother in her life knowing that there is no future for him and Laura. The young Amish lady who has been taking care of Natalie and the house while Jack has to travel for work.

Jack wasn’t sure who or how to begin dating, but when he crossed paths with Kelly a young lady who has been searching for her child he knows that there is something about her that he found interesting and wanted to get to know more of.  Jack had no idea that Kelly has been searching for her daughter that had been taken from her about 8 years ago and she believes that Natalie could be her daughter.

I adored reading this book and fell in love with Natalie, her sparky personality and the way she speaks the truth will just tug at your heart.

Thank you David and Beverly Lewis for writing this book and bringing the characters to life. Truly a wonderful writing duel and I would recommend this book to all readers and look forward for what God has in store for the both of you in your writings.

I received a free copy of this book for my honest review.


Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Ascension Day in the Amish Community

This year Ascension day will be May 29, 2014, which will mark the 40th day from Easter as the day that Jesus ascended back to Heaven.  Did you know many of the Amish communities in North America will  celebrate this day by closing down their business and gather with family and friends.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Huckleyberry Summer by Jennifer Beckstand


Aden Helmuth has always had the best intentions to help and do what is right, but he finds himself caught up with the law and the decision was made that Aden would move to Huckelberry, WI to live with his grandparents what Aden didn’t expect was his grandmother to play matchmaker.

Aden’s grandmother Annie Helmuth knew just who would be the perfect match for him a young sweet girl named Lily Eicher. However, Lily’s father had his sights on Lily marrying another young Amish man the Bishops son.  How does Lily being a sweet and cautious daughter stand up to her father and tell him that the young man he has already passed judgment on is the one she loves she has never disobeyed her father and always look to him for his wisdom.

There are many cases when we find ourselves as Lily’s father did and are quick to judge others before really getting to know each other.  What if we realized we are all flawed we’re not perfect but those flaws and imperfections are the reason we were hand pick to bring glory to the Lord.

This was a pleasurable read by Jennifer Beckstand. It has all the qualities of love, suspense and lessons that we are all in need of. I look forward to reading Huckleberry Christmas which is the third book in this series.


I received an advance copy of the this book for my honest review.