Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Release Day by Amy Lillard

 Don't forget to pick up your copy of AmyLillards latest book in her WElla Landing Series









Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

The Cherished Quilt





EXCERPT

"You didn't mean to, but there's nothing you can do to fix this." He was seething. "Gabriel is gone now. He's dead, Christopher, and we can never bring him back." Tears stung Chris's eyes. Turning back toward the grave, he could almost feel his father's furious stare boring into him. His younger brother was gone, and as Dat said, there was nothing he could do to fix this.

MY THOUGHTS


When I sat down to write this review, the first decision I had to make was where to start given the many emotions that weave through this story.

Amy Clipston captured me with her wonderfully written "The Cherished Quilt". By giving this a read, you may understand just how heartwarming this story is as much by what is not said as what is. This a rare treat of a tale that can make you feel a tremendous mix of emotions that are all tied deeply to an important story.

I suggest grabbing your favorite blanket and a warm cup of tea then prepare for a story that warms the soul. This book was as engaging as it was enjoyable and will make a cozy companion during the winter months.

After the tragic accident and death of Christopher Hochsteler's younger brother, and the argument with his father that follows, Christopher moves to live with his uncle. He wonders if he will ever find solace here or possibly fin the approval for what he has long yearned.


It is Emily who befriends Christopher and she is determined to help him find peace. Their friendship blooms as through the smallest of gestures, she shows him that he is worthy of happiness and his own forgiveness.

Clipston does not disappoint with this story. With every turn of the page, the character that she brings to us grown deeper bond of affection and sympathy to the reader. Despite the grief and his devastated spirit, it took just one person showing kindness and resilience to bring about positive change in his life. This story shows us, that sharing the gifts of compassion and belief, held up by the strength of faith shown to us in the true heart of Christ, the world and our communities may well find themselves at more peace.


I received and electronic copy of this book and gave my review.



About the Author:





Early Years

A native of New Jersey, I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I often joke that my fiction writing “career” began in elementary school as I wrote and shared silly stories with a close friend. However throughout school, I only considered writing a hobby, and I never dreamt of being an author.
In 1991, I graduated from high school, and my parents and I moved to Virginia Beach, Virginia. My father retired, and my mother went to work full-time. I attended Virginia Wesleyan College in Norfolk, and I graduated with a degree in communications. I met my husband, Joe, during my senior year in college, a few days after my father had a massive stroke. Joe and I clicked instantly, and after a couple of months we started dating. We married four years later.
After graduating from VWC, I took a summer job with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District, which turned into an eleven-year career. I worked in the Public Affairs Office for four years and then moved into Planning as a writer/editor.
http://amyclipston.com/
https://www.facebook.com/amy.clipston?fref=ts


Monday, November 28, 2016

True Forgiveness





EXCERPT

"I want to back, Alvin said. "We're not going back,"Titus said. But deja vu stabbed at his heart. He had definitely been here before. He hadn't gotten coffee. He needed coffee. He hadn't stopped, he hadn't changed anything. " I wouldn't mind going back, "Blaine Said. Titus glanced into the rearview mirror. Eli's head lolled against the seatback. He had fallen asleep while everyone else was chattering. "We're not going back, " Titus said. "Who left you in charge?" Alvin pouted. "I did. " Titus said the words even as he knew that he had said them once before. Nothing was changing. How could they get a second chance if nothing was different?


My Thoughts

"Titus Returns" is the 5th book in Amy Lillards Wells Landing series.  It will have your heart feeling  heavy in hopes that each character you meet gets a second chance.

When Titus returns home, he often wonders how all this is possible, and how does he find him self still living here?  Titus' struggle to find himself to fit in his community troubles him, as he contemplates if he still belongs in this place.

Lillard does an exceptional job bringing everything into a full circle . While you examine your own life and wonder if it were you in these circumstances if you'd forgive. In her writings, Lillard also demonstrates that forgiveness can only be obtained when we truly allow God to move in our lives, they way Titus learns to do. Forgiveness is never easy, giving this beautiful story a read will provide some insight how to forgive, or to heal when seeking forgiveness.



AUTHOR



To find out more about Amy Lillard and other writings, you can find her at the links below.


https://amywritesromance.com/about-amy-2/about-amy/about-me/
https://www.facebook.com/AmyLillard918/?fref=ts

Thursday, November 10, 2016

AUTHOR CHAT



Don't forget that this evening we have an author chat this evening over on my Facebook page at 7:30pm EST with Rachel Good. Hope to see you there. https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview/

Monday, October 24, 2016

Christmas at Promise Lodge Tour and Amazon gift card Giveaway



CHRISTMAS AT PROMISE LODGE
by
Charlotte Hubbard








BLURB


Promise Lodge's first wedding is cause for celebration—but the bishop's narrow-minded wedding sermon doesn't sit well with the Bender sisters, especially widowed Mattie Schwartz. She believes marriage and family aren't the only important gifts God gives--even if she suspects her tender feelings for Preacher Amos Troyer run deeper than simple friendship. Amos hasn't given up hope that stubborn, spirited Mattie will change her mind about taking another husband, but when an accident threatens to change his life forever, he wonders if the Lord has sent him a message. He'll need faith, hope, and charity to find the right path—and a Christmas blessing to convince Mattie to walk it with him.

EXCERPT



"'Mattie they've checked Amos into the hospital for observations," he said in a low voice. She frowned. "And what exactly does that mean?" The nurse, a young blonde who wore loose burgundy pants and a matching shirt, gazed at her over the top of the high counter. Her badge said Melody. Mr. Troyer is still unconscious," she replied. "Dr. Townsend has ordered a series of tests to determine if she has brain or other internal injuries.


My Review and Thoughts


Are you ready to return to Promise Lodge?  Well, what are you waiting for, grab your blanket a cup of tea, maybe a few tissues because you may need them as we travel back to Promise Lodge.

When Amos and Mattie lost their spouses a few years back they wondered if they would find love again. They both remembered how they once use to be sweet on each other when they were younger and wonder now, if this could be a second chance for the both of them and if they could recapture the love they once shared. It didn't take much time before Amos and Mattie claimed their love for one  another. They quickly found themselves on their way to getting married. When the news of this happy occasion spread through Promise Lodge it didn't take long for everyone to come together and celebrate the happy couple. Then, in a split second, it happens, and Mattie's future is changed forever.

I don't want to give anything away, but as you read its easy to admire Mattie. She's an example of not letting fear take over, staying in prayer, and learning to wait for God's timing.

This has been another wonderful read from Charlotte Hubbard. Each of these characters (friends) at Promise Lodge truly feel like family and my hope is that you will love them as much as I do. Thank you Charlotte, for your continued writings that touch many lives. I am looking forward to what happens next at Promise Lodge, the possibilities seem endless. 

You can pick up a copy of Christmas at Promise Lodge September 27, 2016 for yourself and for a gift. 

I was given a copy of this book for my review.

Enter here to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC - a Rafflecopter giveaway.





AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Many moons ago—like, in 1983 while she was still a school librarian—Charlotte Hubbard sold her first story to True Story. This launched her into writing around seventy of those “true confessions” stories over the years, and she’s been a slave to her overactive imagination ever since. Over the course of her writing career, she has sold nearly 50 books—most recently, Amish romance series she’s written as Charlotte Hubbard or Naomi King.
Charlotte lived in Missouri for most of her life, so her Amish stories are set in imaginary Missouri towns. These days she lives in St. Paul, MN with her husband of 40 years and their Border collie, Ramona.

BUY LINKS
Promise Lodge, Book 1
Zebra (February 26, 2016)
ISBN-13: 9781420139419 •• ISBN-10: 142013941X
Click on these links to buy this book now!

• Amazon.com   http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ISBN=142013941X/

•• Barnes & Noble   http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbninquiry.asp?ean=9781420139419

•• The Book Depository   http://www.bookdepository.com/book/9781420139419

•• B-A-M   http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9781420139419

•• Chapters   http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/a/9781420139419-item.html

•• IndieBound   http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781420139419

•• Powell’s   http://www.powells.com/biblio?isbn=9781420139419

•• Kensington Books   http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/book.aspx/32120

Ebook:

• Kindle   http://www.amazon.com/Promise-Lodge-Charlotte-Hubbard-ebook/dp/B00Y6RB2PA/

•• Nook   http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/promise-lodge-charlotte-hubbard/1121998591?ean=9781420139426

•• Kobo   https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/promise-lodge

•• iBooks   https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/promise-lodge/id1013564715?mt=11

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Author Chat



Hope you can join me this evening along with Author Charlotte Hubbard for a evening tea and chat. We will discussing Charlotte's latest book Christmas at Promise Lodge.  So come on over to my Facebook page at 7:30pm EST this evening. Hope to see you there.




https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview/

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Fall Giveaway

Hey there friends,

I'm having a Fall giveaway going on over on my Facebook page. Miss Tina's Snitz Pie. Jump on over to see how your can enter and a chance to win an autographed copy of Wanda Brunstetter and Jean Brunsttters books. amishliving #simplelife #fallgiveaway

Monday, September 26, 2016

Waiting on Gods Timing


Excerpt


''Mattie they've checked Amos into the hospital for observations, "he said in a low voice. She frowned. "And what exactly does that mean?" The nurse, a young blonde who wore loose burgundy pants and a matching shirt, gazed at her over the top of the high counter. Her badge said Melody. Mr. Troyer is still unconscious," she replied. "Dr. Townsend has ordered a series of tests to determine if she has brain or other internal injuries.


Are you ready to return to Promise Lodge?  Well, what are you waiting for, grab your blanket a cup of tea, maybe a few tissues because you may need them as we travel back to Promise Lodge.

When Amos and Mattie lost their spouses a few years back they wondered if they would find love again. They both remembered how they once use to be sweet on each other when they were younger and wonder now, if this could be a second chance for the both of them and if they could recapture the love they once shared. It didn't take much time before Amos and Mattie claimed their love for one  another. They quickly found themselves on their way to getting married. When the news of this happy occasion spread through Promise Lodge it didn't take long for everyone to come together and celebrate the happy couple. Then, in a split second, it happens, and Mattie's future is changed forever.

I don't want to give anything away, but as you read its easy to admire Mattie. She's an example of not letting fear take over, staying in prayer, and learning to wait for God's timing.

This has been another wonderful read from Charlotte Hubbard. Each of these characters (friends) at Promise Lodge truly feel like family and my hope is that you will love them as much as I do. Thank you Charlotte, for your continued writings that touch many lives. I am looking forward to what happens next at Promise Lodge, the possibilities seem endless. 

You can pick up a copy of Christmas at Promise Lodge September 27, 2016 for yourself and for a gift. 

I was given a copy of this book for my review. 




To find out more about Charlotte Hubbard you can visit her at her website 

http://www.charlottehubbard.com/ or connect with her on Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/charlotte.hubbard

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Far Away From Home

Won't you come travel with me to Mulberry, Indiana and meet Sadie, Barbara, Ellen and Mandy. Best of friends living Amish. These young ladies decide to embark on a journey of a life time, with a cruise to the Hawaiian Islands. The girls have been so excited about the trip that's all they could talk about. They have plans on what they would see and do, but two of them didn't expect to miss their ship that left them stranded on one of the islands.

When Ellen and Mandy missed their ship they found their way to a Bed and Breakfast on the island.  It is there they meet a lovely couple Makaio and Luna Palu who are the owners of the B&B and a young man named Ken, who seems to have captured Mandy's attention and makes Mandy forget about Gideon for the time. Plans change when Makaio has an unfortunate accident that leaves Luna left to run things by her self until her husband recovers.  Mandy and Ellen decide to stay on as long as necessary to help Luna run the B&B until Makaio recovers. It is during this time Mandy and  Ken seem to becoming more then just friends and Ellen is concerned for her friend and where she may end up if Makaio isn't better soon.

As Mandy becomes conflicted with here feelings about joining the Amish church she is also conflicted about Gideon and returning home to Indiana.  Ellen wonders when will they be able to return home? Will Makaio ever get better.? To find out what happens pick up your copy today you won't be disappointed.

I enjoyed reading this story and the writings of Wanda E. Brunstetter and Jean Brunstetter. I look forward to next book they make together.

I received a copy of this book for my honest review which I have given.
















Wednesday, August 31, 2016

A Lovely Community


I was so excited to read another book from Diane Christner. It seems it has been to long since I had last read from this author.

Christner take you to a small town in Oregon called Sweet Life. In this Mennonite town you will meet Carly Blosser who is different and unique as they get. With a true heart for the elderly you will find Carly working at an assisted living home. It is there that she becomes touched by the residents.   Carly develops a very close relation with each resident and is reminded of how much she misses her own parents. Carly goes out of her way to help one of the residents to find her long lost sweetheart with wood shop owner Adam Lapp could this bring Adam and Carly together? Find out in Christner's Covered Bridge Charm.

Christner never disappoints in her writings and I am always looking forward to her books. I encourage you to purchase this or one of Christner other books you won't be disappointed.

I received a copy of this book for my review.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Your in for a Treat




Excerpt


He shook off the uneasy feeling he had, and walked up the path to the park, determined to enjoy his weekly ritual for the last time. It was a Monday afternoon, his one day every week when his sister, Belinda, was too preoccupied with her laundry chore to notice if he slipped away for a couple of hours just to breathe. Truth be told he'd walked an imaginary line on which he'd teere, ever since Simon and Miranda had gone away for their rumschpringe-without him.

Wow! is the first word that came out of my mouth when I finished reading Katie Kings' His Amish Baby. 

When Noah Byler made a choice not to leave his Amish community, he had never forgiven himself, for letting his best friend Simon and seeing his love Miranda go off into the English world. On his weekly ritual he always had hoped he would run into his best friend or even Miranda, but he never thought in his mind he would see what he saw that one Monday. He knew that something must be done and he had this one chance to make a difference.


I throughly enjoyed this story and was sorry when it ended. Author Katie King, truly has a way with her words, that she hooked me right from the beginning. When I finished reading I thought to myself, what is the true lesson we can learn from these characters? Well, that would be that love never fails and that we need to learn how to forgive those who have hurt us deeply. I can not wait to read the next book in this series.

I was given a copy of this book via e-reader for my honest review which I have given above.




Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Excerpt, Giveaway and Review of A Simple Vow by Charlotte Hubbard







"How are we to get any sleep? Or concentrate on our work?" Dat asked above the raising wails. "Edith, you are to return these babies to their mother at once!' "But I tried to tell you----their mam is dead!" Edith blusrted. "Will brought the twins here until he could get through her funeral and---"This is Will Gingerich we're talking about, correct?" "Jah, and he'd accused the other fellow of ----" "We cannot have Will coming around here on the pretense of seeing his children," Dat stated, " If he's got no wife to raise them now, he'll try to entice Loretta into marriage again. And that matter shall remain a closed book.







A Simple Vow by Charlotte Hubbard, is her first book in her new series "Simple Gifts". You may want to grab some tissues and tea while Charlotte takes you back to the lovely community of Willow Ridge, where you will meet Edith Reihl and some new neighbors.  Edith is a young Amish women who thinks it is her destiny to never marry or have kids. This all changed for Edith the day she stepped out onto her porch and over heard the commotion of two men arguing. She quickly realized that she had stumbled onto a serious disagreement between the men. From what she could see it was Will Gingerich and a gentleman she did not recognize. She did not know what caused the argument, but what she did know was that the two wee ones she saw in the buggy needed tending to. Edith quickly stepped up and knew what she had to do, and she knew it was the right thing. 

If you want to be inspired, then look no further. A Simple Vow is a true inspirational story that will inspire the reader to love deeper and extend forgiveness. Hubbard continues to impress me with her writings, and has quickly become one of my favorite authors of Amish fiction. I have received a copy of this book from the Author for my review which I have given. 


About the Author Charlotte Hubbard


Many moons ago like, in 1983 while still a school Liberian Charlotte sold her first story to True Story. This launched her into writing about seventy of those "true confessions" stories over the years, and she has been a slave to her overactive imagination ever since. Over the course of her career she has sold nearly 50 books-most recently Amish romance series she has written under Charlotte Hubbard or Naomi King.

Charlotte lived in Missouri for most of her life, so it makes sense her Amish stories  are set in a fictional Missouri town. These days she live in St Paul, Minnesota with her husband of 40+ years and their border Collie, Ramona.



Enter HERE for your chance to win a $15 Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift card! Winner will be randomly drawn via rafflecopter during the tour.









Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Blueberry Cupcake Mystrey

 It's a very busy time of year at the local sweet shop where Kaite Chupp works, with the festivities nearing around the corner;  Katie has been busy baking and preparing wonderful treats for customers to pick up. One morning she arrives to work and quickly realizes things aren't the way she left them the night before, and in that moment she realizes there has been an intruder. Will Katie be able to determine who her intruder was and why they did it?

In this story, we see Katie's wonderful heart and her ability to visualize the larger picture at hand. What if we looked at situations the way God sees them, and see His guidance before we act? God already knows the beginning, middle and end of every circumstance, why not seek his understanding in situations we aren't sure how to handle.


It was a pleasure to read this book. It was a quick read with some suspense. I look forward to reading other books from this author.


Thursday, May 19, 2016

Our discussion

Our book party is about to start on my Facebook page. Come on over an join the party

https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview/

Book Discussion

Hello everyone,

I am so excited about tonights book discussion. We will discussing Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard. Did I mention Charlotte will be joining us and there will be giveaways!. You don't want to miss this party going on over on my Facebook page starting at 7:00pm EST. Hope to see you all there.


https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview/

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Promise Lodge Book Discussion

Tomorrow night its going to be a  party! Hope you can join us. Author Charlotte  Hubbard will be joining us plus we will be having giveaways. You don't want to miss this! Join the fun tomorrow evening on  my Facebook Page. See you there!

.https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview/





Monday, April 25, 2016

Hope In the Land

Hope in the Land by Olivia Newport Olivia Newport transports you back to the 1930's when our country was struggling to survive the Great Depression. Let Newport take you back in time to Lancaster, Pennsylvania  where we will  meet Amish women Gloria Grabill  and her English neighbor Minerva Swain.

As both families are faced with the challenge of providing for their families, Gloria seems to have a better sense of what she must do to help her family through this time, while Minera appears to be having a difficultly figuring it out. If these two could get to k ow one another,  before making  snap decisions on  what they've observed, they may find that there's a lot they can teach one another. This is a time where families need to all the help they can get; will these two be able to set aside their judgments long enough to learn  from each other?

This book 4 in Amish Turns Time. Though I have no read the previous books in this series, after this story I may just to back and read them! I recommend ding so before you begin  this one..  I have always enjoyed the writings of Olivia  Newport and I am looking forward to what her next book holds.


I received a free copy from Net Galley for my honest review.

About the Author

ON jacket:peach cleanerI’m imagining you. You walk past as I water my front flowerbeds and we wave. You check the time as we both stand in a long line at the grocery store. You sit in front of me in church. I’m at my table in the coffee shop and you’re at yours.
We may smile politely and move on with our separate lives. Or one of us may speak, a simple invitation to conversation, and the words flow between us.
Here the adventure begins. When we meet someone new, we never know where it might lead.
I’ve been married for over thirty years and have two twenty-something kids. We live in stunning Colorado at the foot of the Rockies, where the day lilies in my back yard grow as tall as I am. (No short jokes, please.)
Not every piece of my life is pretty, though. Some days I want to throw out whole chunks. But I am living each day looking for the grace of God to me, in me, and through me. Having your companionship along the way will help uncover a lot of great stories.
Thanks for stopping by my site, where conversations and adventures begin with a click. I hope we’ll run into each other often.

– Olivia Newport

 For more infomation about the author visit  her web site at http://www.olivianewport.com/



Thursday, April 14, 2016

Afternoon friends. Visit my Facebook page Miss Tinas and leave a comment there for a chance to win an autograph book from Beverly Lewis The Atonement!

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Here are Ten practices Amish Groups Have

Here are Ten practices Amish Groups Have
Rural residence
German based dialect
Eighth grade education
Church service in homes
Lay ministers
Church regulated dress
Selective use of technology
Horse and buggy transportation
No participation in the military
Small local congregations
Source used is The Amish by Donald Kraybill

Giveaway

Hello  everyone,

I will be doing another Spring Giveaway check later in the week for detail on how  to enter and what you can win!

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Give away!


Afternoon friends.  Have you heard the news. Wanda Brunstetter and Jean Brunstetter have relased The English Son and I have 3 signed copies to giveaway over on my Facebook page. Make you you stop by at 5pm EST for details on how to enter. https://www.facebook.com/MissTinasSnitzPieBookReview/ #amishliving #simplelife

Monday, March 14, 2016


An Unbroken Heart (An Amish of Birch Creek, book 2). Is the latest book from Kathleen Fuller. It is a story of love, courage and forgiveness. So sit back, grab some tissues and let Kathleen introduce you to Andrew Beiler and Joanna Schrook. These two young kids have know each other ever since their early days of  school. From a young age, they both knew they would end up marrying one another. However, something that they could never foresee a tragedy that would rock their relationship and test their love. The strength and courage that Andrew and Joanna display, will give you encouragement and perhaps help you hope in overcoming the tragedies in your life and even forgive those who have hurt you. 

I was first introduced to Kathleen's writings, it was in one of many Novella's she contributed to. Fuller does a spectacular job of making us fall in love with each characters, and truly brings them to life. Her characters will teach you how to lean onto God's strength and not your own. In Unbroken Heart, Andrew and Joanna will move and inspire you. I absolutely recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a truly inspiring story. 

This book releases on March 15, 2016. I received a free copy of this book through NetGalley for my honest review in which I have given.






About the Author





Just the facts…I was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, grew up in Little Rock, Arkansas, and now make my home in beautiful Geneva, Ohio. I’ve been married to James for 15 wonderful years (really, they have been wonderful!)  We have three terrific children, three dogs, and an overwhelmed cat. We have also raised cattle, pigs, and chickens at various times over the years. We would have gone into the goat business, but I had to draw the line somewhere. I started writing in 2000, and published my first short story a year later. Since then I have authored several short stories, novellas, novels, and have done a lot of freelance non-fiction work. I have also worked as an editor. I have a Masters degree in Special Education, emphasis on teaching the blind and visually impaired, and a Bachelors in Early Childhood/Elementary Education. I have taught all age groups ranging from age 4 to age 18. A few of my favorite things: my relationship with Christ, chocolate (of course!), autumn, a satisfying book, good friends, a sense of humor, people who don’t take themselves seriously, haunting melodies, NFL football, and did I mention chocolate? You can follow Kathleen on Facebook or visit her web site at www.kathleenfuller.com